God is my Crazy-Enabler!

I wonder what would happen if a man getting his boarding pass for a flight said: “Excuse me, but it’s my observation that women have cooties that will dilute my awesome manhood. Please make sure that I am not seated anywhere close to a foul female.” His request may or may not be accomodated, but if it was, then almost certainly the ticket agent (and anyone else who found out about this extraordinarily bizarre request) would think he was either mentally ill or morally contemptible.

But if he slightly modifies it to: “Excuse me, but God says that women have cooties that will dilute the manhood of righteous men. I’m a righteous man so please make sure that I am not seated anywhere close to a foul female.” Then suddenly people are supposed to take him seriously.

Similarly, imagine if a policewoman said: “After careful rational consideration of the issue, I have determined that the sight of my hair will drive men who aren’t related to me mad with lust and so for the benefit of all concerned I must keep my head covered. Please modify your dress-code accordingly.” She would likely lose her job because she is clearly delusional.

But if she modifies it to: “God says that the sight of a woman’s hair is obscene, likely to drive men wild with lust so I have to keep my hair covered. Please modify your dress-code accordingly” then people take her seriously and try to accomodate her.

How did we get here? Why are weird, delusional anti-woman ideas that would scorned if presented as an individual’s convictions supposed to be taken seriously as soon as religion is invoked? People should believe and behave how they want in private, but for God’s sake they shouldn’t try to make other people, non-believers conform to their private ideas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

